PROJECTS · RUMBO AROUND THE WORLD · RUMBO IN ATLANTA

Rumbo in Atlanta

Versión en español aquí

After months of searching and researching I am ready to share with you all what my thesis has brought out. But I would love to call it Journey because I was investigating about what I love: Learning a Second Language in Preschool. And on my way I found one of the greatest bilingual teachers for toddlers, Alice Danesin, and I cannot be more thankful for how you haportadave inspired me and you still keep doing. This post is full of passion and enthusiasm and I hope you will enjoy the journey with me!

Soon you will meet Rumbo, a crazy monkey that loves to connect with people from all over around the world. And this time, he has found a Spanish immersion school in Atlanta and he can’t wait any more to meet the amazing kids that are learning there. So, right away, we booked two tickets and arrived the 23rd of January to an area called Decatur. But the luggage of Rumbo is soooo heavy, what are you bringing this time? Which learnings are you planning to share with these children??? Come on give me a clue! At least just three things!

imagen-picmonkey

(Definitely, don’t miss a word in this Lesson Plan). Recently, we have met Olga de Dios in a workshop that she did for kids in MadisMad. She is the author of those three books and two more that we will share soon. And we are just so inspired about the stories and the illustrations that she uses to share about the value of DIVERSITY. And it is all what Rumbo loves to share:

In diversity there is beauty and there is strength. 

Maya Angelou

In 5 days we will make a memorable adventure for those kids in which:

And yes! All this will be  in Spanish for English speaking children! And that’s exactly when the beauty comes: when we are not just a Second Language Teacher but we are able to teach through a Second Language values, contents and skills.

Looking forward to sharing more!


GALLERY

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

FOLLOW UP


New horizonts. Rumbo Around the world

Hello, hello! Welcome y’all! Travelers, teachers, grandpas, kids, boys, girls, zebras and iguanas, snails and red lion fish! However you feel comfortable defining yourself you have a place here with us, in the world. We invite you to follow our journey on Instagram: @Rumboaroundtheworld_ Read more.

1. Pin your starting point. rumbo around the world 2


Rumbo’s and Tami’s van

27/ 03/2017 Isn’t it beautiful when one of your kids get that inspired that made up a whole story about a trip together in a van? Read this piece of imagination by clicking here.

Van de Tami y Rumbo


Rumbo in South Carolina

If I go traveling, my kids come with me! I involve them in the excitement of the days before, in my wonders, expectations; in the planning; in my discoveries and learnings; in my passion for exploring the world. And this time we went to…South Carolina!!! Read more.

DSC0213912


To get inspired by other projects click here

Leave a Reply

